Nursery Ideas

26 May

 Normally when a couple is going to find out the sex of the baby they will wait to see what they are having before deciding on a nursery theme. In my case, someone from church gave me a really good idea that would be good for a boy or girl. See, we already have the room painted, and we are not going to repaint it. We have hopes of getting a house in the next year or so and it would be a lot of work to repaint the whole room for a short period of time. The room currently looks like this:

IMG_1030

The walls are bright blue, and the decor is black and white with yellow accents. I was chatting with a friend of mine at church on Sunday, and she said that a friend of hers did a bumble bee room, which is gender neutral. I said “oh my goodness that would be so perfect. We could keep the walls blue, keep the black, white and yellow, but just make it more babyish” lol. I asked her if I could use that idea and she said “sure, she lives in Arizona!” So, that’s how I got the idea. If it is a girl I want to add some sunflowers as well. I got some ideas online for decorating.

BUMBLE_BEE_LARGE_DS

For a girl:sunflower-m-p

The colors are a little softer in the first picture (like the blue and yellow), but I think we will stick with the more vibrant shades of blue and yellow. 

bee-baby-bedding

It will be exciting to pick out the bedding and decorations! Although I know my mom will probably be doing most of it since she is the interior decorating expert!

00020101-t  il_430xN.48692592

1452882_25851_full

 I love this next picture idea with the bee buzzing and the words following. I may change it to a Bible verse of some sort.WallSpokenBeeNurseryFinal I have some time to decide. 

 

 

We are hoping to move the bed out by the end of the summer (so Nikki and friends, you have the summer to come visit me before your bed is gone hehe). That way we can clear out the room and get it ready to put stuff in after my baby shower.

4 Responses to “Nursery Ideas”

  1. gatorbaby May 26, 2009 at 3:48 pm #

    I love the bumble bee theme! I think it’s perfect for a boy or girl! Where did you find that set and do they have more to choose from? I don’t want anything too girly or too boyish really…I love the color green. Any ideas? By the way, I have my next ultrasound tomorrow!!! Yeah! I will be 13 weeks this Thursday! I’ll be posting new pictures sometime this weekend.

  2. marlen May 27, 2009 at 1:50 pm #

    i love the bumble bee idea as well 🙂 it is so cute and gender neutral, like you already said. also, not stuffy, like a lot of kid themes can be these days. i especially LOVE the “vintage bee” look… it’s not quite “bumblebee”, but still quaint and unique! i can’t wait to decorate my nursery! wait… i can’t wait to get pregnant i mean! i will live vicariously through you for now 🙂 and ps YOU DO LOOK GREAT!!

    • toriebartee May 27, 2009 at 2:38 pm #

      Thanks Marlen! I love the “vintage bee” too! That one was my favorite. I found that picture but I can’t find where to buy it lol. When you get pregnant, I hope you do a blog too cause I will definitely read it!! Thanks for the compliment!

  3. Meghan May 28, 2009 at 10:19 am #

    I really like the lighter colors for a girl and the bolder ones for a boy. But it all looks great!!! I really like the bee on the wall that’s so cool. I like the words most of all. Great idea!!

Leave a Reply

