Nursery Art and Progress

25 Aug

 By the looks of the room, I haven’t gotten any work done, but I have! IMG_1365The room is so messy and unorganized, but that will be changing soon. With Seth being done with school, he is going to take down the bed, help me organize and move things to the garage.

 

I have been crafty and doing projects for baby Bartee’s room though. I finally finished the art work that will hang above her crib, and I must say I am proud of it. I took 4, 12×12 canvases and covered them with scrap book paper. 

IMG_1364

That was a challenging task in itself, because I couldn’t get the paper to match up evenly with the canvas. There were lumps and bumps, so I would rip it off and start all over. Once I got the outer canvases done I started working on the middle painting. It is the sunflower with the bumble bee. It took me about 4 hours total to paint! I had to edge each object with a tiny paint brush, so that is what slowed me down. 

IMG_1363

They will hang (as shown) above her crib.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I got some really cute ideas from Etsy.com. If you ever want creative decorating ideas, visit that website. It’s cheaper to get ideas from other people and then do it yourself. Anyways, the first idea was the bumble bee door hanger. I bought a $2 wooden hanger, wooden bumble bee appliques and ribbon from Michael’s and copied the idea.  

                                         IMG_1296 

The last thing I did, which took a lot of patience and work, was the blocks that will have her name on it. My dad cut out the wooden blocks for me (thanks dad) and then I painted them black. 

IMG_1288Next I mod podged scrap book paper to the blocks and let them dry. I also painted the edges yellow to add a little pop. The last thing I did (which is not shown) is mod podge the letters of her name to the scrapbook paper. I printed them off of the computer and cut out each one. The reason why I didn’t paint the letters onto the blocks was because the yellow paint is kind of thin so you could see the scrap book paper through it. I wanted the letters to stand out. It looks pretty good, but I can’t show you the final finished product, because that will show her name 😉 I also bought and painted a wooden bumble bee and a sunflower to sit beside the blocks. It will all be on a shelf hanging above her changing table/dresser.

 

Before

Before

After

After

I feel proud that I did all this by myself. Yeah, I took a few extra steps here and there which could’ve been avoided, but I like all the work I’ve done. Plus it gave me something to do while Seth was at school and all of my summer TV shows ended. I will post more photos when I get the room completed!

8 Responses to “Nursery Art and Progress”

  1. Meghan August 25, 2009 at 8:47 am #

    You are just as talented as your mom 🙂 I love it all!!!

    • toriebartee August 25, 2009 at 1:05 pm #

      Hehe thanks!

  2. Joyce August 25, 2009 at 9:39 am #

    Thanks Meghan!! She is pretty talented if I must say so myself!! Just can’t wait till baby is here!!

  3. Devon August 25, 2009 at 10:42 am #

    Super Cute! It’s going to be awesome how much love you put into the nursery!

    • toriebartee August 25, 2009 at 1:05 pm #

      Thanks! 🙂

  4. Nikki August 25, 2009 at 12:23 pm #

    So Adorable !! I just might want to stay in her room with her 🙂

    • toriebartee August 25, 2009 at 1:05 pm #

      I’m sure she wouldn’t mind!!

  5. Ursula August 25, 2009 at 2:06 pm #

    Love Love Love it! You are SUPER crafty, it all came out looking GREAT!

Leave a Reply

