Baby’s Size…Week 38

2 Nov

40-small-pumpkin

How your baby’s growing:

Your baby has really plumped up. She weighs about 6.8 pounds and she’s over 19 1/2 inches long (like a leek). She has a firm grasp, which you’ll soon be able to test when you hold her hand for the first time! Her organs have matured and are ready for life outside the womb.

Wondering what color your baby’s eyes will be? You may not be able to tell right away. If she’s born with brown eyes, they’ll likely stay brown. If she’s born with steel gray or dark blue eyes, they may stay gray or blue or turn green, hazel, or brown by the time she’s 9 months old. That’s because a child’s irises (the colored part of the eye) may gain more pigment in the months after she’s born, but they usually won’t get “lighter” or more blue. (Green, hazel, and brown eyes have more pigment than gray or blue eyes.)

One Response to “Baby’s Size…Week 38”

  1. Nicole November 3, 2009 at 1:40 pm #

    Hey Torie,

    Oh my…just 5 more days and you’ll get to meet your angel!!! I’m jealous! I’ve been hearing from other friends that the internal checks are not very fun…I have my first one on the 9th…yikes! I’m curious to see where I stand…I’ve been having so many braxton hicks like every day all day but not regular so I’m not too worried. Plus everybody around me also has noticed my “drop” in the belly and they all think I may go early now. We’ll see what the doc says! Enough about me though…I am so excited for you guys…Sunday will be here before you know it! Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

