A Few of My Favorites

23 Dec

I guess it’s time for my favorite things post. I always find it so interesting how every mom’s list is different. I guess it depends on the child as well as the mother, but off the top of my head, these are my must-haves. Remember that these are my opinions, and that you may disagree. I have formed some strong loves for some. It will change as she grows and has different needs, but here is my list from a mom of 6 weeks.

1Graco Swing ‘N Bounce 2-in-1 Infant Swing-  This thing has been a life saver  when I am cooking, taking the dogs out or wanting a nap. Sometime she fusses when I initially put her in it, but once I turn on the “water” sound she is out. It also can be used as a bouncer. Two things in one!


2. Medela InStyle Breast Pump- Since breast-feeding didn’t work out for Rylie and I, this has also been a life saver! I really wanted to be able to give her my milk (and save some money by not buying formula) and this has allowed me to do so. It is a little extra work to exclusively pump, especially at night, but I am so glad that I am able to provide that milk for her.

3. Moby Wrap- I really didn’t think I would need this. A friend of mine let me borrow her sling, and to tell you the truth, it was not comfortable and Rylie hated it. She sat really low in it and was not skin-to-skin or chest-to-chest with me. She really enjoys being close to her momma. Once I read that you can make a Moby I was all for it! She loves it and falls asleep right on my chest. Plus, I can get things done around the house.


4. Lots and lots of sleepers- I also didn’t think that I would be using these 24/7. In reality they are the best things for around the house. Easy access to change diapers (which is very often) and they keep her feet covered and her body warm. She is pretty much in these all the time except when it is on the warmer side. Since the cooler weather is here, she is in her sleepers. 

5. Homedics Sound Spa Lullaby Relaxation Machine- I read some reviews of a few sleep machines that other moms loved. I orders this to try out when she is a little older and can watch the projection move. She is sleeping in her bassinet beside our bed at night and I needed a night-light to be able to see her and feed her. This is perfect for that. It’s bright enough to see things in the room, but dim enough to where she knows it’s night-time. The “ocean” sound is perfect as well to relax her.


6. Pampers Swaddlers diapers Blankie soft style- I definitely prefer these to Huggies brand. Huggies are too small for her behind and sag more in the crotch (they might be better for boys if you know what I mean). I also love these because they have the line down the middle that changes to blue when she has a wet diaper. Very convenient! 

7. My Camera- This is pretty self explanatory, but definitely keep it near by at all times. You don’t know when they will decide to do something cute, funny, or new.

8. Boppy pillow- Great for feeding time. Allows her to rest on and for me to prop my arm up. I think most moms would agree that this is a must!


9. Lansinoh Breast Cream- Since I had a very rough time breast-feeding, this product was great! I was really sore, cracked, bleeding, and just all around tore up. This provided some relief and helped me heal as well. Pumping is not all pain-free though. You still get a little sore from time to time, so the cream really helps when your bra or clothes rub against. I don’t use it too often, but it is nice to have for those “ouch” moments.

10. Rylie- Well of course I love her! I just wanted an excuse to have a #10 and post a couple pics 🙂

She loves bath time now!

One Response to “A Few of My Favorites”

  1. gatorbaby December 24, 2009 at 1:38 pm #

    Great Top 10….I agree especially with the swing, pump, Pampers Swaddlers, sleep n plays, etc. I need to try the moby wrap thing…that is pretty awesome! Rylie has changed so much already! She’s so beautiful…I just love her eyes and puffy lips! Oh and who can resist those cheeks…I could just eat them! Ryan and I wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a Blessed New Year! Of course the best gift this year is Rylie…nothing else can compare!

Leave a Reply

