The Love of a Mother

3 Feb

There are many kinds of love. The love between a man and woman is probably the first kind of love that comes to mind. It’s natural to want to be loved or to show love to someone else. People always state it as “falling in love” when in fact you choose to love someone. You may be attracted to certain traits in a person, but ultimately you choose to love them.

Then there is the love of things. I can say “I love chocolate,” but that doesn’t mean I would marry it. I also could say “I love shoes,” but I’m not going to worship them. The love of things shouldn’t be something we base our lives around. It should be more of an expression than an action.

There is also love for your friends, your pets, your job, or activities. But the kind of love I have recently discovered is the love a mother has for her children.

No matter what that child does, she will always love them. This has helped me understand the love God has for us. This is Agape love; the divine love of God toward His Son, human beings and believers. No matter what we do, he loves us. (Of course his love is perfect). He is the example of the greatest love of all. He sent his son to be sacrificed so that we could spend eternity with him. How much greater of a love can we be presented with?

For the first time in my life, I truly understand that kind of love.  A love that is unconditional, selfless, and sacrificial. I know that my mom spent her life showing that love to my brother and I. Whether I was throwing baby powder around my room or calling her something I shouldn’t have, she continued to love me just the same. The question is did I ever truly appreciate it? Or did it take becoming a mother myself to fully understand?

Mom, I get it now. I understand why you grounded me, made me write out Bible verses, and have a curfew. I understand why you spent so much money on dance classes, college, and shopping for me (and not yourself). I understand that you only had my best interest in mind, and you only wanted to see me succeed. I only hope that I can spend my life showing Rylie that same kind of love.

2 Responses to “The Love of a Mother”

  1. Joyce February 4, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    I LOVE YOU!! What a tearful week, but tears of JOY!!

  2. gatorbaby February 4, 2010 at 4:32 pm #

    What a beautiful entry…and so true! I also never understood the true feeling of the love a mother feels for her child until now. I had this same discussion with my mother. Oh and I can totally see “YOU ” in Rylie from your baby pictures! She’s a good mixture of both you and Seth!

Leave a Reply

