Mommys Shouldn’t Be Allowed to Get Sick

13 Feb

The past two days were my first time being sick as a new mom and let me tell you it was no fun! The hardest part was that Seth had to work, so I had no help what-so-ever. Talk about exhausting! Rylie has had a bit of a runny nose which we think is because she is teething. On top of that I got a fever in the middle of the night and could not sleep. I was so hot that I had to take off my clothes and turn on the fan even though it was about 40 degrees outside. Once my fever broke Rylie woke up to eat, so I got up with her and to clear her nose. Ugh that was not fun. She cried and I was frustrated because I had no sleep and I couldn’t get all the snot out. I finally got her back to bed and went to sleep. I only got about an hour and a half more sleep when she was ready to wake for the day. So there I was, trying to take care of a teething child while my temperature is rising. I felt like such a bad mom because I couldn’t kiss her and get close to her like I normally do. I felt like I couldn’t give her the attention she needed. So, by 3pm my temperature had reached 101 degrees and I felt like complete crude. Good thing she was taking her long nap at that time because my muscles ached so bad. I felt so weak. I haven’t been sick our entire marriage. I don’t get sick very often, but being sick with a 3 month old is a whole different experience. I am now feeling better and hoping that I didn’t pass my cold on to her (and Seth).

One Response to “Mommys Shouldn’t Be Allowed to Get Sick”

  1. gatorbaby February 14, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    Oh no…that’s aweful! You were really sick! I’m sorry you had to go through that! Thank goodness that’s over with, huh?! Rylie should be okay…she has nutritious milk to keep her immune system strong! As for Seth…maybe he should get a bag of frozen milk and drink some to keep him healthy…LOL…it may prevent any sickness…you never know! I go back to work March 1st…let’s try to get together before then…with hubbies!! Maybe a dinner date…P.F. Changs anyone??? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

