Sometimes Your Crafts Just Don’t Work Out

31 May

Ever since I started making hair bows I’ve been in a really crafty mood. I made a bib with some fabric I had, a wreath for the front door (I got the idea from Mrs. F) and I started making adult headbands (which I will be selling as well). Since I had a lot of fabric left over I decided to make a puffy letter for Rylie to play with.

I didn’t have a pattern for the letter, nor did I want to look one up, so I free-handed the letter “R”. Then I traced it to make a second letter. I pined them together and sat down at my sewing machine. I followed along where the pins were and everything seemed to be working out great. I thought “man I am an awesome seamstress. I don’t even need a pattern”.

When I went to finish the letter, my sewing machine got jammed. I was so ticked that I just stopped. I then realized I didn’t leave an opening to put the stuffing in. It was a good thing my sewing machine jammed or I would’ve had a backwards letter. I was so excited to flip my letter inside out to see the finished product! Much to my surprise, I am not as awesome as I thought I was.

I showed it to Seth and he thought it was supposed to be a doll. I guess I will stick to making hair accessories!

6 Responses to “Sometimes Your Crafts Just Don’t Work Out”

  1. justine May 31, 2010 at 10:37 am #

    i LOVE that head band!!! and i think your “r” is cute too!! it’s like those ugly dolls, they’re kind of lumpy and odd shaped, but they are so cute too! i like it.

    will you be selling the headbands on your site too?

  2. Liz May 31, 2010 at 8:19 pm #

    What a cute idea though… if you had a pattern, that would be really neat to make… and a fun, soft toy to play with! 🙂 Hmm, if only I were that crafty….

  3. tori June 2, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    Cute headband! don’t worry….my crafts go astray sometimes too. i did a painting of a dress once that my husband thought was a cup. 🙂

  4. Tiffany June 2, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    I love your headband. That is really cute. The “R” isn’t that bad for not having a pattern. I don’t know if you saw the taggie letters that I did on my blog. I tried doing those without a pattern and it didn’t come out all that great either. If you just print something out on the computer, that works great for a pattern. My letters look so much better now and it is quick and easy.

  5. Carol Annie June 4, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    I had a similar experience when I tried to make my own hair bows. I couldn’t even get those to look right and I was following a video tutorial while I did it. So, at least you can make awesome hair bows!

  6. LeeAnn June 4, 2010 at 3:11 pm #

    I have to admit that I laughed when I read this post. But hey, at least you tried. If I tried to make something like that, it wouldn’t even look like an “R”, trust me. I honestly think it is adorable, and I’m sure that Rylie will love it!

    I can’t wait to see the headbands on your site! I wear them a lot and it might be nice to have something a little fancier than the piece of fabric around my head. 🙂

Leave a Reply

