Nightmare

17 Jun

Last night I had the worst dream ever. I’ve had my fair share of bad dreams, but this one tops them all. I don’t remember all the details or how it all lead to this, but Seth was in a car accident at work and died. It was horrible. I cried the worst I ever cried in a dream. Then I found out that Rylie died too. I don’t remember how, but I remember feeling like my world was over. That I had no reason to live anymore. Two of the most important people in my life were gone. The worse part was that I kept trying to wake up, but couldn’t. I had to volunteer for a fund-raiser (in my dream) and I remember that I cried the whole time. When I did eventually wake up I was gasping for breath and crying for real. I felt so emotionally drained. It was so hard to fall back asleep because I did not want to go back to that nightmare.

As I sit here now, the tears stream down my face thinking of what my life would be like without them. I can’t fathom it. I keep thinking of the lady from the Biggest Loser a couple of seasons ago who lost her husband, little girl and weeks old baby in a car accident. My nightmare was her reality and I just can’t imagine what she went through. She is such a strong person for picking herself up and going on with her life. That must be such a hard thing to do.

I don’t know why I am sharing this, but it has weighed heavily on my heart all day. One day we will all die. It’s such a hard thing to think about, but it is reality. There is a happier side of death. The side of eternal life. I know that one day when my life has come to an end, I will be rejoicing in the heavens with the Lord and my other loved ones. I know that when I say “goodbye” here that I will just say  “nice to see you again” there. I hope that you can have that assurance.

“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”-John 3:16

One Response to “Nightmare”

  1. brittany June 17, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

    this is a beautiful post Torie… not the part about Seth and Rylie but the end is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

