Losing It With Torie

1 Jul

Many people have been asking me how I got the baby weight off so quickly (I was completely back to my pre-baby weight at about 3 months). To be honest I’m not too sure myself. Genetics definitely have a lot to do with it (my mom is the one to thank) and I think breast-feeding does as well. Your body is using energy to make milk through out the day, therefore you can burn up to 600 extra calories. I don’t know about you, but that sounds like a great reason to breast feed (besides other obvious reasons).

My journey started as soon as I got the all clear from my Dr…which probably started a little earlier than it should’ve (oops)…I started doing the 30 Day Shred by Jillian Michaels. I was rusty getting back into things, so I took it easy in the beginning. Once I felt like I had a little more endurance, and felt totally healed I started running again. Granted, it was a mile maybe twice a week, but it was a start. Once I got back up to speed I started running 2-3 times a week. My mom was a big help because she would come over and watch Rylie while I was out. Once the weather warmed up I took Rylie in the jogging stroller, which by the way is 2 times harder than running by yourself. Yeah. That didn’t last too long. It’s too darn hot to take her now (that’s my excuse anyway) so I wait till Seth gets home from work to run by myself.

Also, your diet has a lot to do with losing weight. I honestly am not a fan of “diets” nor do suggest going on one. I like to think of it as eating healthy. Getting your portion sizes under control is a good place to start. So many people have no idea how many extra calories they are eating with that oversized plate full of food. I would suggest measuring everything to start and then once you can eyeball what you are suppose to have (as one serving) you won’t have to measure every single thing. It’s always good to go back and make sure you are still eating the proper amount. Make sure you have lots of fruits and veggies. If you are breast-feeding and need to replenish those extra calories to make your milk…make sure they are healthy calories. And try to stay away from a lot of sweets ::hangs head in shame:: Yes, I am very guilty of this one. I don’t think you should totally deprive yourself, but don’t over indulge either (and watch the “snacking”. Those calories can sneak up on ya.) Once a week have a day that you will treat yourself for all your hard work. Just don’t over do it 🙂

Now a days, I try to run at least twice a week and do workout videos three days a week. But that is a good week. Sometimes I don’t get that 2nd run in or the video time (which by the way I do Jillian Michael’s No More Trouble Zones, her kickboxing DVD, and her Last Chance Workout.) It’s so hard when you have a million things come up to keep you from working out. Just stay focused and remember how you feel after you work out. I know that I always feel great and am so happy when I push through that 30-60 minutes! Post note cards around your house to stay motivated, get an accountability partner, or journal (aka blog) your journey. You will feel so good looking back at how far you have come!

* I am not trying to brag. I just want to encourage other moms and offer my support!
6 Responses to “Losing It With Torie”

  1. Jennifer @ Life with the lebedas July 7, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    Thanks for the encouragement and you can brag as much as you want too! I did my exercises monday and i’m going to do my exercises at lunch again but uhh i hurt so bad from Monday! I’m doing a review on a product so i’m forcing myself to stick with it! 🙂 It’s a good motivator! I’m trying and hopefully the results will keep me going!! 🙂

  2. Mrs. Joe July 12, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    Good for you! You look great!

  3. Heidi-D July 12, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

    You sure are one of the lucky ones my dear!

    There are plenty of women out there that wish they were as lucky as you are that HAVEN’T had kids yet (namely… me) – thank you for sharing some encouragement!

    We’d love to have you join our McFatty McLinky (with Blair’s permission of course) – if you’re interested, stop by my blog and link up!

    http://itsjustmeheidid.blogspot.com/2010/07/mcfatty-monday-mclinky.html

  4. Steph July 12, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    Man, I wish I could have been back to waaaaaaaay normal pre-pregnancy weight at 3 months PP! Congrats to you! You look fab!

    I love the 30DS, too…helped me lose quite a bit of weight. Now sitting at a 95 pounds loss!

  5. D July 12, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

    You look great momma! And it sounds like you work hard too! I am constantly telling myself to kick it up a notch and really start working out. But another day goes by and nothing has changed. I claim I don’t have time. But I have to MAKE the time if I want to see changes. Way to go and thanks for the inspiration!

  6. metta1313 July 13, 2010 at 11:39 am #

    Wow! And I totally agree about the genetics thing. I’ve always been a overweight and I’m trying to accept that perhaps I’m not meant to be skinny and just focus on trying to be healthy…and it looks like you are focusing on that too. I’m on a non-diet diet…where I try to change my lifestyle. Every time I go on a “diet” when I’m done I gain it all back and then some. Now that isn’t healthy!

Leave a Reply

