This is my Season

15 Jul

I’ve always dreamed of being a stay at home mom, but I never thought that I could be one after my first child. I didn’t think it would be financially possible. Although, I didn’t have a choice. I lost my job a few months ago and honestly couldn’t see myself going back to work…yet. I love being able to be home with Rylie and watch her grown up. I love taking care of her, playing with and her teaching her new things. I am living my dream. But am I really?

A lot of soon to be first time moms don’t realize that as soon as you have a baby your plans can totally change. There are a lot of moms out there who love their jobs and return to work shortly after having their first baby. Then there are others who maybe cut back to part-time or stop all together. But either way there is a small part of you that gets lost in translation. You are no longer who you were before a baby. You become a mom, one of the most rewarding yet most challenging jobs there is. Your life consists of changing diapers, feedings, naps, repeat. Sometimes I stop and think “is this it? Is this what my life has become? Am I ever going to be able to accomplish the goals I had for myself?” It’s hard. It’s hard to put your dreams and ambitions aside.

I have to remind myself that this is the season. It is my season of poo, food, and cartoons. It is my season of temper tantrums, disobedience and mischief. It is my season to discipline, teach and guide. But it is also my season to hug, kiss, and giggle. Before I know it the time will pass and a new season will be in bloom. I can’t get lost along the way. It is important for me “refill my cup”. It is important to have moms night out and some time away from my baby. If I don’t take a mommy “time out” then I will feel worn out and not be able to fill her needs. It is important to have date nights with my husband and time alone with God. If I just remember to take a little bit of time to myself, I will in return be a better mom, wife, and daughter to those I love. Sure I have other dreams and aspirations, but right now I am fulfilling one of my most prized ones. Being mom.

7 Responses to “This is my Season”

  1. sugarplumtreasures July 15, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    Cherish your time with her. As a stay at home mom for the last almost 8 months, I got to spend every waking moment with my Sugar Plum. Now I have to go back to work, luckily I get to go back part time, but I honestly dread the idea of leaving her. I worked hard for a long time to become a veterinarian and honestly could not imagine myself as a SAHM, but now I would give anything to be able to continue to be that SAHM.

  2. Krista C July 15, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    Wow, this is exactly how I’m feeling right now. I just recently quit my job to stay home with the kids…it’s been my dream! Even though I seem to get lost in wiping nose and hineys it so worth it and I cherish every minute I have with them because it’s going by way too fast!!

    Enjoy your time with her mama…you’re doing a great job!

  3. ksluiter July 15, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    what a great post! that is sort of how i feel having the summer off…I am starting to get anxious feelings about going back to two jobs from no job. I don’t want to leave my buddy for so much of the day (and some evenings). I love my job SOO much, but I love being home too. I feel VERY torn lately.

  4. Joyce July 15, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

    Well, tomorrow you will get some of that Torie time and I am sooo happy I will get some Rylie time!!

  5. Beloved Mama July 15, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

    Adorable blog 🙂 Found you on Bloggy Moms.
    http://belovedmama.blogspot.com
    http://twitter.com/belovedmama

  6. D July 19, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

    This is so true. And I really needed this too. I’ve been feeling so blah lately and just not myself and yet confused who I am at this point. Everything is constantly changing and will never be what normal once was. I need to quit wait and start enjoying and participating! Great post – and thanks!

  7. leah July 29, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

    Love, love, love this post. With every ounce of my being I want to be a WOHM, but know that I don’t fully understand the implications. This is only a season of life!

Leave a Reply

