Saturday’s Supper

17 Jul

Last night I made an Olive Garden inspired Chicken and Gnocchi soup. I wanted to share it with everyone because it came out so yummy! This gave me the idea to start Saturday’s Supper. Every Saturday I will try and post a new recipe that I used that week. I hope you find something that you can make and if you do, come back and let me know what you thought.

Olive Garden inspired Chicken and Gnocchi Soup

From beginning to end it takes about 10 min. of prep and 30 min. cook time. I don’t know where I found this recipe but, I almost always do my own alterations. I will let you know what those are.

1/3 cup butter
2 cloves of minced garlic (I didn’t have garlic in the house so I used garlic powder this time)
1 lb. chicken cubed or large chunks
1/3 cup flour
1/2 carrot shredded
1 stick of celery shredded
1/4 cup onion shredded
1/2 cup fresh spinach torn in pieces (I didn’t have any spinich either and it tasted fine)
2 cups whole milk (I used skim)
2 cups heavy cream (I used 1/2 cup cream and 1 1/2 cup chicken broth to make it a little healthier)
3 chicken bullion cubes
Cracked pepper to taste
17.6 oz. of Gnocchi (I found mine at Target)

On medium heat.
Melt butter in a soup pot, add in the garlic and sautee, add your chicken and cook through out
Add flour and stir in flour and mix well until the flour is cooked into the chicken.
Next add your milk and heavy cream (and chicken broth if you use that)
Then add the veggies(Carrots, Celery, Onion, Spinach)
Add three bullion cubes
Add your Gnocchi last it takes 3-4 min. to cook throughout
Mix ingredients well until soup thickens and stirring occasionally. Cover and simmer for 10 minutes.

Over all I think it tasted pretty good. I hope you like it too!

2 Responses to “Saturday’s Supper”

  1. Nikki July 19, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    oo that looks good, i’m going to try it and get back šŸ™‚ I also thought about starting a blog about cooking kinda like an EMMMERial whada bam! blog šŸ™‚ when I can get a little more time to do stuff i enjoy šŸ™‚ can’t wait to try ur recipe

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. All Around the World News - July 18, 2010

    Saturday's Supper Ā« Life with Rylie…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

Leave a Reply

