Home Ec Project

21 Aug

I decided to take an online sewing class. Yes, I know my grandma sews and my mom is a decent seamstress as well, but when you have a 9 month old who needs naps and constant care it is a bit difficult to pick up and go.

I heard about this class from Gussy. She has been an inspiration to me and my company. I hope I can be as cool as her one day 🙂 The course is called Home Ec and it is being offered by 3 amazing women on Freckled Nest. There are a bunch of projects from easiest to most difficult and they teach you different techniques along the way. The course is perfect for me because there are no deadlines and you go at your own pace. Perfect for those with wee ones.

Last night I was up to date on all my Twenty Five Design orders and had a couple of free hours. I finally got a chance to work on my first project. I attempted the double-layered napkin. It turned out fairly good.

It is supposed to look like this:

Photo credit

It goes to show that I just need more practice. I made another clutch for a bloggy friend Krista. I won’t post pictures until I give it to her (it is a surprise), but it turned out a lot better than my first one. You learn from your mistakes and get better as you go! Can’t wait to make my next Home Ec project, a reuseable gift pouch!

7 Responses to “Home Ec Project”

  1. alexandria August 21, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    Wow! Your double layer turned out so much better then mine. I attempted it 3x and kept “losing” the ric-rac. My single layer came out good though. I’m going to move on to the gift pouch and come back to this one later.

  2. Marci Girl August 21, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    It looks great! Rikrak is hard to use even for experienced sewers, so you did great for a first time! And actually if you want to be nit-picky if you look closely at the “good example” picture, they have problems with theirs! Look at the right hand side top layer of rikrak…you can see the other side of the “bumps” it is supposed to be sewn right down the middle, you don’t want “holes” showing. So see…nobody is perfect…haha! Have fun with the class, I checked it out a few weeks ago too and they do have some great learning projects! You will be a pro in no time!

  3. Joyce August 21, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

    Looks awesome!! Grandma will be proud!!!

  4. Krista C August 21, 2010 at 5:44 pm #

    Awesome job!! I can’t wait to see all the projects you are going to make!!

    Oh and your friend Krista is super lucky!!! 🙂

    Thanks hun…can’t wait to see it!!

  5. mommytojenna August 21, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

    umm that looks pretty amazing!!

  6. Shazia August 22, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    It looks good! I have been feeling very creative lately but just don’t have much time to work on all my projects. I will have o check out the Home Ec class!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Home Ec Project « Life with Rylie -- Topsy.com - August 21, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by torie, Torie. Torie said: My first #HomeEc #sewing project! http://bit.ly/aA8Caa […]

Leave a Reply

