Moving On Up

24 Aug

Well, I wish we were. Straight up, I want to move! I know I say it all the time, but I am over living in a town home. These walls are closing in on us and we have nowhere to go. As everyone knows, the market is horrible. There is no way we could sell this home without losing a ton of money. It is just the reality of the times. And it’s hard to swallow. While we sit here out growing current home, there are beautiful brand new houses out there, double the square footage, with a big back yard, for less than what our mortgage is now. It can be a bit depressing if I think about it too much. I try not to because you know what? We have a roof over our head.

I am so thankful that we do have a place to call our own. I am grateful that we are not out on the street or bunking with said family member, but we are ready to grow. The other day Seth and I had a conversation that broke my heart. We both want more kids, but the reality is that we don’t have the space for another. It would work for the first few months while the new baby is sleeping in our room, but what happens when it is ready for a crib and a room of its own? Where would he/she go? Where would we store the baby things along with Rylie’s collection of toys?

Another challenge we are having is my growing business. As of right now my work is being done on our dining room table. It works for now, but when I get a lot of orders it is hard to keep everything organized. Plus, we eat in our living room…something I do not want to be doing. I want us to sit down at the table as a family, not in front of the TV. It’s important to me to start that habit now, so in the future we can sit down and talk as a family.

As for Rylie’s play time…that is done in our bedroom. There are too many things for her to get into downstairs in our living room. She gets into my ribbons and fabrics, the dogs crate, and I don’t feel comfortable with her walking on the tile all the time. Our computer desk is in her bedroom and she always gets under it and bumps her head. So where else can we play? Our bedroom is the most baby-proofed area in the house. No the most ideal place for playing, but we make it work.

But no matter where we lay our head, store mounds of toys, or eat dinner, a house is a house, but a home is where love can grow (and it’s where you heart is :)) No matter if we live on the shores of Hawaii or a box on the ground, we will always have love for each other. My goal is to make sure that no matter what, Rylie and our future children know that we do, and always will love them.

“We love because he first loved us.” 1 John 4:19

5 Responses to “Moving On Up”

  1. Carol Ann August 24, 2010 at 8:21 am #

    Torie – I can absolutely relate to this. This was our exact situation last year. We had two kids that we were raising in 1,300 SQF of space, most of that space being on the 2nd floor and our 4 year old wouldn’t play up there alone. So basically, we were all crammed in to a tiny area to eat, play, and live. It was stressful and chaotic. By the grace of God we sold our house after nearly 2 years on the market and we made a tiny bit of money. We rent now as we look for a house to buy. Having more space has changed our lives.

    I definitely think you have the right perspective about being grateful for what you have and that you are more fortunate than 75% of the people in this country that don’t or can’t own their own home, but there are also options.

    You could rent out your townhome and then buy a bigger home, or rent a bigger home until the market turns and you can sell your townhome. It’s risky. A lot of people are upside down in this market and they are getting creative in order to get themselves into bigger houses. If you are serious about it maybe you should talk to a Financial Advisor or Realtor and investigate your options. It couldn’t hurt.

  2. LCW August 24, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    Oh my we are sharing thoughts. We own a townhouse in St. Augustine, it’s being rented out right now because we can’t sell it in this market. We’re renting our current house in Tampa, I hate it. I’m ready to move on. I know all too well how you feel.

    I’m a fantastic organizer, maybe I could help you find more space and utilize the space you have better so you can eat at your dining room table, craft in your main living area and have a play space for Rylie. Let me know, my services are cheap (read: free). Hehe.

  3. Krista C August 24, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    I totally understand how you feel! We are in the same situation, which is why I turned the dining room into the playroom 🙂

    I know it’s so hard to wait but things will work out! Just keep trusting and God will provide!! I’ll be praying for you guys!

  4. ksluiter August 24, 2010 at 5:21 pm #

    Oh my WORD do I relate to this!! I loved our house when we bought it, but now with a wee one and no where to move around without being on top of each other all the time…boo! We live in a bi-level and it is making me CRAZY! And hey, if LCW up there gets you any fantastic (and CUTE) organization ideas? PLEASE PLEASE pass them on! I am SO sick of having our laptops and homework be on our dining room table!

  5. Katie M. August 24, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    I too can relate, especially with a kitchen renovation. Our dining room is for eating, housing our kitchen appliances, and toys. It is HARD to deal with right now. Our house is small and no closet space or play area for two toddlers. We just walk over toys and deal for now.
    It will get better. We all have to start somewhere!

Leave a Reply

