The Closing of my Etsy Shop

26 Aug

NO not Twenty Five Design! I will be closing my On Top Baby Bows etsy store sometime in September. Some of you will be upset, and others could care less, but there are a couple of reasons for this decision.

Let me start by saying I will continue to sell bows, just not through etsy. I will leave my Facebook profile open and you can message me what you want and I will send you a paypal invoice 🙂 Now on to my reasons for closing shop.

1) I’ll be up front with you all…It’s not doing so good. I’ve only had two (etsy) orders in the last month or so. Not my idea of success.

2) Etsy charges per listing and sale. Since I haven’t been selling much, most of the listings are about to expire and that means money down the drain.

3) The good news is that my adult line Twenty Five Design is doing very well. If I was successful in both stores I would be completely overwhelmed more so than I already am. I want to focus on one store and make that store better than great!

I must say that I do have a few people who love my store and have helped me out, but not enough to make a living off of. I will continue to do it as a hobby and provide cute hair accessories for little girls on Facebook, so you can find me here. BUT with the closing of my etsy store, I need to sell out my current listings! So with out further ado…

All etsy orders will marked as half off with $2 shipping (unless the total shipping is less than that. You will get the lesser of the two)!! After you have placed an order I will refund you the discount through paypal. Once they are sold on etsy they will not be re-listed, (you can get them through Facebook, but not discounted) so get over there and start getting 1/2 off your entire order!

P.S. Tweet about this and I will throw in a bow for free!!! Just come back and let me know you did 🙂

7 Responses to “The Closing of my Etsy Shop”

  1. Nathan August 26, 2010 at 9:04 am #

    Don’t worry, that just means you’re a good businesswoman! Supply and demand- it works!

  2. LeeAnn August 26, 2010 at 9:08 am #

    So sorry to hear this. 😦 Especially since I haven’t even gotten over there to order anything yet. But on the flip side, I’m so glad 25 Design is doing well!

  3. Heather August 26, 2010 at 9:29 am #

    NOOO!! I love your little bows! They are just small enough that my daughter doesn’t notice them… therefore doesn’t pull them out for at least 5 minutes! hehe I just placed an order, so let me know if you have any questions. And I can’t tweet for you since I don’t have Twitter… otherwise I would!! Good luck with 25 Design!

  4. Karen August 26, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    Aw, I am so sorry Torie!!!! I was just thinking the other day how Jillian needs purple headbands and bows. I am glad to hear 25Design is doing well for you! Take care.
    Karen

  5. brittany August 26, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

    i tweeted and ordered! I still want to send you a picture of her dress… how would it be easiest… through e-mail or through your facebook (ontopbabybows?)

    thanks!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Five Question Friday « Life with Rylie - August 27, 2010

    […] I’m having a huge sale on my baby bows shop! Get your entire order half off! See this post for details (or just scroll […]

  2. Party? Say What? « - April 1, 2011

    […] its 8 months of life and counting. You can read more about my journey opening up my own store here, here, and […]

Leave a Reply

