Time Is Ticking Away

4 Oct

I can not believe that it is October. It seems that as we age, time speeds up with each passing day. A client of my mom’s once told her that she believes your age is your speed limit in life. I think I agree with that. Just think about it. When I was a little girl I couldn’t wait for Christmas to arrive. It seemed like it took forever to celebrate, and of course open presents. Even the day went by slowly. Or how about waiting for the summer? It felt like an eternity to get out of school. But then, when we all wanted to return, that took long too. Now I feel as though I can blink and it is a new year. I can’t imagine how anyone over 40 feels.

I have been going through pictures of Rylie from birth to present day for her first birthday party. I love looking at her when she was a tiny newborn. I thought I would never get a full nights sleep again, or how I couldn’t wait for her to crawl. Now it is tough to remember her as that. If I think real hard I can remember giving her a sponge bath and her crying because she hated it. I can remember cuddling her right before bed and her falling asleep in my arms. I can remember finding it hard to dress her because I wanted to be extra gentle. And now I sit here looking at my almost toddler, curled up in a ball, with her face smashed against the bumper pad and I’m wondering where the time has gone. How did she grow to be so independent and adventurous? How is it that she is running around with the big kids and playing in home-made tents?

This year has been one of the best years of my life, and so far the fastest. I can not believe how fast children grow up, especially when they are your own. I can not believe that my little baby, my first-born, is going to be a year old in a little over a month. She has grown, and will continue to grow into the beautiful little girl who God has created. I can’t wait to continue to watch her learn and experience what this life has to offer. I hope that I can cherish every moment, remember these special times and not wish time away.

4 Responses to “Time Is Ticking Away”

  1. Krista C October 4, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    It’s amazing how much time we spend wishing they would crawl, walk, talk instead of just sitting back and enjoying each moment. Brian and I were just talking about this the other day, we find that we are doing this with both our kids so instead we are going to cherish each day because this life is flying by!!

    Enjoy that little girl 🙂

  2. LeeAnn October 4, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    What a great post! Time does go so fast, and these kids grow up so quickly!

    I am torn right now. Since Bryce is my last baby, I want to cherish all of his “firsts” and I don’t want anything to come too soon. HOWEVER…I have to say that Rylie’s age is SO MUCH easier than Bryce’s, and sometimes I really can’t wait until he is like two and a half (especially if he is already potty trained like she was).

  3. Christine @ SugarPlumsMomma October 4, 2010 at 8:40 pm #

    You took the words right out if my mouth! Where has this year gone to? How us my baby a luttle person already?

  4. leah October 5, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

    It’s so unbelievably challenging and rewarding to be a parent, but the wishing for a pause button is always front and center.

    You’re doing a great job mama!

Leave a Reply

