Thankful On A Thursday

4 Nov

This week has been a bit stressful, but also so full of joy. Since opening up my own etsy shop, I’ve pushed some household chores aside. Usually when I have a free moment to myself I get working on orders and neglect the mounds of laundry piling up. But I am very thankful for those of you who have been supporting me and spreading the word. This leads me to my first thing to be thankful for:

  • The internet– I know it is a weird thing to be thankful for, but seriously if it wasn’t for blogs and twitter I would not have been nearly as successful as I have been so far. Over half of my customers have come through blogs and/or twitter. I am also thankful for:
  • Those who have supported me through the blogs and twitter- This goes hand in hand with the previous statement. I am so thankful for those who have hosted a giveaway, blogged about my accessories, tweeted about Twenty Five Design and have spread the word. I can not thank you enough. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
  • My mother– To keep some of my sanity my mom watches Rylie almost once a week. This way I can try to get my house somewhat clean, catch up on orders and be able to re-group from the week. I am thankful that she is willing to give up a day out of her week to watch Rylie, although I know I am not twisting her arm to do so 🙂 There are so many other things to be thankful for about her. That doesn’t even scratch the surface.
  • Being able to stay home with Rylie– It really wasn’t in the cards for us, but when I was laid off right after she was born we had to make it work. She makes me laugh all the time and we have so much fun. I am so thankful that I can stay home with her and teach her, play with her and nurture her. I know so many moms who would love to be able to do this, but it is not an option right now. I know I am one of the lucky ones, even though we have had to make sacrifices to make it possible. Today I was cracking up at her as she took her ball pit, dumped out the balls and put the pool over her head. I was laughing so hard at her sitting there rocking back and forth. As I watched her giggle I realized that I am so lucky to be able to have those moments with her.

  • My husband– He has been so supportive in my journey as an entrepreneur. He encourages me, puts up with fabric everywhere, and takes Rylie off my hands when I need to catch up on orders. Even when I ask him his opinion about a new product he smiles and tells me it looks good (even though he has no idea what he is talking about). I am thankful for his love and support in this new adventure I am enjoying.

There is so much more I have to be thankful for, but I will save that for another post. Writing it out helped me count my blessings and not focus on the negative. I hope that you can find something to be thankful for today.

McGlothin Family Nest

3 Responses to “Thankful On A Thursday”

  1. Alysha November 4, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    I am so happy for you that your shop is taking off so well! I still wear my head band you made me like once a week! Its seriously my favorite! 🙂

  2. Shannon November 5, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

    That is so sweet! I love reading everyone’s Thankful Thursday posts. Reminds me to be grateful for all the little things…

  3. Joyce November 5, 2010 at 8:53 pm #

    I’m thankful for my daughter and grand daughter!! Love you both!!

Leave a Reply

