One Year

10 Nov

Dear Rylie,

Today we celebrate one year since God has given us such a precious gift. Everyday I am shown the love of the Father through my love for you. Your dad and I love you so much and we can not fathom how much more God loves you.

I remember sitting in the hospital waiting for you to be born. Our minds were filled with questions of who you would look like, what your personality would be, and how much hair would be on your head. Along with the anticipation there was also worry, hesitation and fear. Would we be great parents to you? Would we be able to take care of you with little to no sleep? How would I know why you are crying? We had some fears becoming first time parents, but we knew that God would equip us to be yours.

The moment the Dr. placed you on my chest I broke into tears. You were so beautiful and so perfect. I couldn’t imagine you any other way. I didn’t want the nurses to take you away. I laid there listening to you cry while I tried to peak around them to get a better look. I didn’t want to let you out of my sight . You came back to me all bundled and warm. There was no more crying, just cuddling and admiration.

It was your daddy’s turn to hold you even though I didn’t want to let you go. He held you so close and so sweet. I even saw a small tear form in his eye. You know that he loves you because he never sheds a tear 🙂 I fell even more in love with him as he held you tight. There was a brief flash of the future and you having him wrapped around your finger. He never believed it would happen, but you already do.

We brought you into our little house which now feels more like a home. The dogs sniffed you up and down to see if you were real. As we sat there staring at your beauty, we were filled with a love that parents often talk about. We didn’t know that kind of love until we had you.

Now I look at you laying in your crib. Your arms stretched over your head, and your body filling up most of the space. Where has our little baby gone? She is growing into such a beautiful little person that has blessed us so. You are running, talking, and playing by yourself like such a big girl. You can point to your nose, your belly and your toes. What a smart little girl you are becoming. I am so proud of you and all you have accomplished so far. I can only imagine what the future holds.

You are so very loved by so many people. Your daddy and I will always be here for you no matter what. We pray that you look to the Lord for guidance, strength and courage through out your entire lifetime and that you learn to love others as He has loved us. Don’t be afraid to tell others about Him. He will give you the strength.

Rylie, I realize that you may not understand how much we love you until you have children of your own, and I’m ok with that. Just know that we love you more than anything this life has to offer, and always will. I am so excited for the future and watching you continue to grow into the person God has planned for you to be.

Happy first birthday princess! We love you so much!

Love,

Mommy and Daddy

9 Responses to “One Year”

  1. Sara November 10, 2010 at 7:00 am #

    Happy 1st Birthday to your adorable daughter!!

    http://breezybeachlife.blogspot.com/

  2. LeeAnn November 10, 2010 at 9:04 am #

    Happy 1st Birthday Rylie!!!

    That was the sweetest post, Torie. Thank goodness I have tissues on my desk. 🙂 I hope you guys have a great day and a great celebration of Rylie turning one. It just keeps getting better and more fun…

  3. Shazia November 10, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    Happy 1st birthday Rylie!

  4. Christine @ SugarPlumsMomma November 10, 2010 at 9:48 am #

    Happy First Birthday Rylie! I hope you have an amazing day!

  5. D November 10, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    That was a beautiful letter! Happy 1st Birthday Rylie!!! 🙂

  6. brittany November 10, 2010 at 11:48 am #

    soooo your post made me cry 🙂 haha what a beautiful letter that is for her to cherish ! Happy Birthday Rylie!

  7. Krista November 10, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

    So beautiful!! Happy 1st Birthday Rylie!!

  8. Nicole November 10, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

    What a beautiful letter you wrote to Rylie! Even I got all choked up!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention One Year « Life with Rylie -- Topsy.com - November 10, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by torie, torie. torie said: ::Sigh:: http://bit.ly/cpI1gB […]

Leave a Reply

