It’s The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year

28 Dec

I hope you had as wonderful of a Christmas as we did. We started our festivities Christmas eve at church. We then went to my parents house to exchange gifts. Rylie got the hang of ripping the wrapping paper and went at it. We had a great evening being together.

 

My Family...poor Rylie didn't want pictures taken

I absolutely love Christmas morning. I remember the feeling I would get as a kid while waiting for Christmas morning to arrive. My brother and I would get up super early, run to the tree and analyze every present. Then we would wake my parents up, who more than likely just went to bed, and be told to wait one more hour. Sometimes we could talk them out of bed, but most of the time we were made to wait with them for at least 30 more minutes. We would all gather around the tree and everyone would take turns opening up presents. I know as a kid you are overly excited to get cool gifts, but now looking back at all of us being together, laughing and making jokes was what I cherished most. I’ve only got to experience one side of Christmas morning until recently. This year I got a glimpse of the other side. Rylie is still a bit young, but when her face lit up over some of her gifts it put that feeling I longed for back into my heart. This time I got great joy in watching her light up.

Of course Christmas is not about the tree, presents or food but it is about the greatest gift of all. The birth of our Savior. What better way to celebrate His birth than to be with the ones you love and cherish the most!

One Response to “It’s The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year”

  1. Marci Girl December 28, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

    Oh and I promise, each and every year will get better and better. My son is three and really “gets it” and honestly I think my husband and I were more giddy than he was! It was so great to have that innocence of a child at Christmas.

Leave a Reply

