New Year, New Challenges

3 Jan

It’s a new year with new goals, challenges and resolutions. I’ve always been one to have a new years resolution. I love setting goals for myself and trying to keep up with them for the entire year. As I have gotten older my goals have changed. I remember one of my goals in high school was to get a boy friend…lame right? And as I changed and grew so did my resolutions. I didn’t always keep them, like the time I tried to give up sweets. Ha! Who was I kidding? But I always do my hardest to make small changes.

This year I not only have personal resolutions and goals but professional ones as well. Last May I opened my very first etsy store On Top Baby Bows. It was fun while it lasted, but didn’t necessarily do well. I started to experiment with adult headbands and found my calling. In July I opened Twenty Five Design and have been growing ever since. My 2011 hopes for Twenty Five Design are to expand more locally. I’d love to have some items in a couple of boutiques around central Florida. I’d also love to attend a craft show sometime this year. I had a lot of fun at the holiday extravaganza in December, and I’d love to do something even bigger. And lastly I’d love to attend a blog conference, possibly Blog Her? No? Well a girl can always dream right?

As for personal goals, this year does not include losing weight, but rather getting in shape. December was rough with all the orders I had to create, holidays to celebrate and food to eat. Working out took a back seat for the month. I need to get my booty back in to gear to remain healthy and energized to keep up with my growing toddler and hopefully another little Bartee. Not anytime in the near future, but possibly later on in the year. I owe all my postpartum weight loss to being in shape pre-pregnancy and during my pregnancy. I strive to do that for future pregnancies.

Of course I want to be a better person all around. A better wife, a better mom, a better friend and a better person to familiar faces as well as strangers. It’s not like I am a bad person, but there is always room for improvement. Most importantly, I want to be a better daughter to the Father. He deserves nothing but my whole heart and soul in anything and everything that I do. I know I am not perfect and never will be, but I strive for greatness in His presence.

One last thing I want to do is the project 365. You basically take a picture a day for the entire year (for those of you who weren’t sure what that is). I’m already slacking a bit on that, but starting tomorrow I am taking it on. I guess it will be Project 362? I got a new lens for Christmas and I am excited to put it to use everyday this year.

I really hope you had a great new years and that 2011 brings you more joy and happiness beyond your wildest expectations!

2 Responses to “New Year, New Challenges”

  1. Carol Ann January 4, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    Love this line, Torie “Most importantly, I want to be a better daughter to the Father. He deserves nothing but my whole heart and soul in anything and everything that I do.” That’s so true and also part of my resolution.

    Mine is simple this year….I just want to slow down. I want to resist the urge to over-schedule myself and to attend every social event we are invited to. This will leave me more time to spend with the Word and with my Kids. It’s a simple goal and one that I can work on throughout the year.

    I give you big props for taking on Project 362….you can do it! Did you get a nifty fifty lens? I lovie mine. It rarely comes off of my camera!

  2. Ann-Margaret Arnold January 11, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

    I just got a new lens, too! Love my camera and playing around with photography! I have thought about the “365 days” challenge, as well, and keep thinking I should just start it…it would be ok if we missed a few days! 🙂 So happy to have met you today on Twitter! 🙂

    Tealightfully,

    Ann~Margaret

Leave a Reply

