I Remember When

10 Jan

Last night as I was driving to and from my leadership meeting I turned my iPod to shuffle mode. It shuffled through over 8,000 songs. That’s a lot of music. I have such a broad selection of music that I very rarely put the whole thing on shuffle. Sometimes you have to be in the mood for country or gangsta rap you know?

Every so often a song would play that brought back a memory. One being the NSYNC classic “Drive Myself Crazy”. I listened to over and over in high school when my heart was broken by one of my crushes. Listening to it brought back those memories of pain, hurt and devastation. Yes, I blew it out of proportion and looking back he really wasn’t that great, but it’s high school love. It happens.

I also came across a few other songs that reminded me of college heart-break. As the songs played I recalled the situations and how horrible I felt after rejection. But I also had a chance to think about how everything seemed to work out. If those boys wouldn’t have broken my heart I may not have met the love of my life and gave birth to the most precious gift I could receive. I was reminded that things do happen for a reason, even heart-break.

Then there were songs that brought me back to college, driving in the car with my roommates and singing at the top of our lungs. I miss those days. I miss being as goofy as I could be, making people laugh, and not having many responsibilities. But as soon as I tuck my baby girl in at night I know I am right where I want to be.

I love that my senses can bring back a memory that has since been tucked away. I get so caught up in the every day hustle and bustle that I sometimes forget a simpler time. Like the smell of a certain soap and how it reminds me of playing in the bubble bath when I was young. Or a perfume my grandmother use to wear. I don’t want to forget those memories because they are a part of me. They have made me who I am today.

4 Responses to “I Remember When”

  1. Carol Ann January 11, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    Torie – I love everything about this post. It’s wonderful how songs or scents can bring us back in time. It makes us feel connected to our past and you hit it on the head – Good or bad memories, they all lead us to where we are today. Great post, girl!

  2. justine January 11, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    for the longest time, the smell of vanilla would remind me of disney world and my mom. she wore it on our first trip ever, and every time i would smell it, it made me happy =)

  3. LeeAnn January 11, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    It’s like that Garth Brooks song “Unanswered Prayers”. I, too, had my share of heartbreak, but I had to go through the heartbreak to get to where I am today, which is right where I belong too.

    I LOVE to hear songs that my friends and I used to listen to back in high school and college. I get just as giddy now when I hear them, as I did back then.

    Great post, Torie!

  4. Vicki @ Crowning Victoria January 13, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    I SO know what you mean!
    I get the same feeling with certain songs – some sad, but some fun and happy.
    Music is so powerful 🙂

Leave a Reply

