Adding Pops of Color

25 Jan

It may not feel like it but Spring is just around the corner and lots of color will be a big fashion trend. But it can be a scary thing–especially when you are not use to it. It can be difficult to decide what color to use, how to wear it or how much is too much. Here are 4 easy ways to add pops of color to complete an outfit.

1. The Belt. It took me some time to warm up to belts and not the kind that hold up your pants. I’m talking about the kind that cinch in your waist. I thought it was ridiculous to wear a belt that didn’t go in belt loops, but it can really help define a waist and add a bit of color to a neutral outfit.

I could have played it safe with a white belt or no belt at all, but I wanted to use color to add to the the dress.

2. The Shoes. I LOVE SHOES. I really do. Any and all kinds. Shoes are not only to protect your feet, but they can really add some pizazz to an outfit.

3. The Jewelry. It is hard to wear jewelry around a grabby baby/toddler, but I still wear it. I love big chunky necklaces, statement rings, earrings, and of course headbands. They can all make a boring outfit fun.

Here is an example of shoes and jewelry. There is so much you can do with jewelry. This is only the beginning.

4. The Handbag. Now that I am a mom my purse is pretty much a diaper bag. I can’t help that I have to carry diapers, wipes, clothes and the kitchen sink every where I go. But when I do (very rarely) go with out my girl I try to carry a cute bag.

Here is a pop of red with the bag, necklace and shoes. Notice that I didn’t go overboard with a red belt too. I kept that neutral.

Use these 4 fashion staples to add color to an outfit. Try to stick with only 1 or 2 of the above and not all 4. Sometimes that can be a bit of overload. Happy fashion!

3 Responses to “Adding Pops of Color”

  1. 1 Funky Woman January 25, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    I love the pop of yellow with that dress! You have the figure so I say go for those pink heels with the skinny jeans, just darling!

  2. justine January 25, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    i like your style, girl!

    i have become the queen of frump lately, but with spring around the corner, hopefully i can remedy that, lickety split.

    i will definitely be incorporating some of your cute ideas!!!

  3. Jacky {The Sweetest Petunia} January 25, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    So cute! I especially love that first dress & belt. 🙂

Leave a Reply

