Bloom Where You are Planted

28 Jan

I was doing my usual browse through blogs when I came across the phrase “bloom where you are planted.”  The phrase stuck with me the entire night. I kept thinking about it over and over. It struck a cord in a couple different areas of my life. One being our house situation. It’s my dream to have a bigger house and not only square footage, but my own crafting/working room. I am currently working in my dining room and it is getting more and more cluttered with more and more products being added to my shop. I sit at my computer and dream about all the fun things I could do with my own space and how much of a difference it would make in my work. But when I came across this phrase I was reminded of what I am supposed to do– make the most of where I am and what I am given. There is no point in wishing and dreaming for bigger things when I am doing just fine.

But this phrase can be applied to other things as well. As moms we get caught up in “I can’t wait till he/she eats solid foods” or “I can’t wait until he/she can walk.” “I can’t wait until he/she can talk.” I’m guilty of saying those things and sometimes wish I could take them back. Not because I don’t want my child doing them any more, but because life goes by so fast. I am reminded to cherish each and every moment, each and every milestone and each and every stage my child is in. Before I know it Rylie will be graduating, getting married, having children of her own and one day I will be no more. Scripture even says:

“Now listen, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.” Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.” James 4:13-14

So I sit back and think about that phrase–Bloom Where You Are Planted. Make the most of every situation. Cherish every smile, every hug, every giggle, every struggle, every hardship, every person, and every place that I am given because before I know it–it will be gone.

4 Responses to “Bloom Where You are Planted”

  1. Renee Edmonston January 28, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    Great blog Torie!! I have to tell you, I got my space..have my own art studio in the house…oh…did I say my own…when you have a little girl…nothing creative and fun is your own. I find I avoid my studio now because my children have taken it over. I cannot deny them the right to be creative. I love your post as it is so real.

  2. Shannon January 28, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    Torie, your new look is lovely! So spunky!

    This is a great post too! They do grow up way too quickly…I find myself constantly reminded to enjoy every second of it, diaper changes and all!

  3. Hannah January 31, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

    I love this!!! So true, so often I think about the future and what I want to accomplish that I lose sight of the moment right now and the joys that God has placed in my life right now. Thank you for sharing this, I really needed it today.

    Hannah

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Bloom Where You are Planted « -- Topsy.com - January 28, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by KRH!!!, torie. torie said: Bloom Where You are Planted: http://t.co/uoQiEkF […]

Leave a Reply

