What’s In a Name?

5 Feb

I have a secret to confess–I think about baby names often. I’m not even pregnant, but every time I hear a name called out I imagine it as my child’s. I can’t help but think of names for my future children. Most of the ones I had picked out in high school are either a) already taken by someone we know b) have become overly popular c) we have met new couples and their child has the name I liked or d) hubby doesn’t approve. So it’s back to the drawing board.

Even tonight I asked Seth what he thought about a new name I heard. And of course he didn’t approve. It wasn’t even a “different” name, just something that he didn’t care for. We very rarely agree on names, although he picked out Rylie’s name and I happened to like it. A little different, but not strange, not in the top 10 for baby names and I liked the flow it has. We don’t have any specific reason for her name other than the fact that we both liked it. She does have her Great Grandma and Aunt Kristin’s middle name, Mae. Rylie Mae. I love the ring it has.

As I meet more moms, I meet more little girls with the name Rylie all with varied spellings. I thought I was being original, but I guess not. I just hope she is not 1 of 10 Rylie’s in her class. I loved my name growing up and how I didn’t know a single other kid named “Torie”. I knew a couple of “Victoria’s” but I never met a “Torie”. (By the way my real name is Victoria, but I’ve always been called Torie. I think it suits my personality more than Victoria.)

So I continue to secretly listen to other children’s names, search online and try to come up with my new top list. I only hope that my children will love their names as much as I have loved mine and don’t run to the court house to change it.

6 Responses to “What’s In a Name?”

  1. Krysten February 5, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    The hubs and I already have names picked out. I figured it’s good to be prepared so there’s no arguing when the time comes, hehe.

    I come across a lot of people with my name but very few that spell mine the same way, which is kind of nice.

  2. justine February 5, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    i know what you mean-we are trying again (have been for a while, actually) and that’s all i can think about sometimes. i thought i was the only one, and i am embarrassed to admit that i have a page in a journal full of baby names. is that way weird?

    and girl, i named my kid bella at the height of the twilight epidemic (i picked it a long time ago). and among the names i have written down for a boy? jacob. HAHA only worse would be if i named my kid edward. and i don’t even LIKE twilight! i have a sinking suspicion that bella will be one of many bella’s in her classes. but she is the only bella to me =)

  3. marlen February 5, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    I had never met nor heard of ‘easton’ except for once in an article I was reading. We too chose it just because we liked it. Last week I met one at the park, Easton’s age. A couple months back I read it was a popular celebrity name! And now I hear it is one of the fastest growing boys names. Great!

  4. bellesbutterfly February 5, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    We chose Isabelle because we liked it. We picked it out years ago before we were even thinking of getting pregnant. She is the only Isabelle at daycare but at 16 months has already been called Isabella, Bella, and Izzy. I feel bad that she is going to be correcting everyone her whole life but I love the name.

  5. Vicki @ Crowning Victoria February 6, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    Mike and I do this ALL.The.Time! I’m glad to hear I’m not alone. But we feel extra silly because we’re not married (yet – 4 months!).

    It all started when Mike came home from his side job saying “I met the cutest baby with the greatest name” and now we continue to find the “best” baby names out there, to prepare!

    PS: I love Rylie Mae’s name. You’re right, it has a wonderful ring to it! so cute!

  6. LeeAnn February 7, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    I am SO GLAD I can finally get to your site! It looks awesome!

    Yeah, we thought we were being pretty original with Rylie too…especially with the spelling. When I was looking in the paper for her birthday announcement, there were three other girl Rylies born the same day!! (2-Riley, 1-Rylee, 1-Rylie) Two weeks after she started daycare she became Rylie H. because a new Riley also started. So yeah, apparently the name is pretty common. I had no idea.

Leave a Reply

