Touch Up Tuesday

8 Feb

I know I’ve been doing a lot of photo posts lately, but this blog isn’t strictly limited to one category. I can’t put my self in a box and say I am a mommy blogger, fashion blogger, photography blogger or food blogger. I am a “Torie” blogger. I write about what is going on in my life and what I am passionate about. Right now I am taking an online photography class and I am really excited about it. Strictly using “auto” mode isn’t going to produce great pictures and I want to better understand my camera.

Wow, such horrible lighting. I have been shooting in Aperture mode (A setting) and not understanding how to get better lighting. Hopefully this photography class will help with that. I really did not think I’d be able to do anything with this picture, but much to my dismay I pulled off this.

I just did the basic levels balance, color and contrast edits. I also ran the “Sharpen This” action from The Pioneer Woman for the bubbles.

I am obsessed with the “Velvet Truffle” action from The Coffee Shop blog. I ran that action and made a layer mask to make the bubbles stand out more. I think the 1st edit is my favorite, but I enjoy the 2nd one as well.

Thanks for visiting. Check out all the other great edits at Paper Heart Camera.

Touch Up Tuesday's at the Paper Mama

8 Responses to “Touch Up Tuesday”

  1. Lisa Clarke February 8, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    Nice! I’ve got a similar obsession with Velvet Truffle 🙂

  2. Elena February 8, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    Definitely the second edit! It’s awesome! I also love the angle of the shot!

  3. Allison February 8, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    would you recommend the online course you are taking?
    the colours in my apartment are very much like your original shot…i have been trying different things with the settings to improve the quality, but havent figured it out yet!
    i also dont have photoshop and just use iphoto for simple editing. i probably should invest in a better editing program.

    ps – love your blog! have been a follower for a little while now.

  4. Find Your Happiness February 8, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    Nice edit! If you shoot in RAW you will have more control over editing, too.

  5. Kristy Life n Reflection Photography February 8, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    Lovely processing!

  6. Valerie February 8, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    I think you are a quick learner. My favourite is the second edit because I love the texture of the bubbles.

  7. Faith February 8, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

    WOW – I just love your 2nd edit 🙂

Leave a Reply

