DIY: Felt Flower Broach/Hair Clip Tutorial

18 Feb

This is my very first tutorial so I will try to be as clear and thorough as possible. I want to share a really easy tutorial of how to make a felt hair clip that can be doubled as a broach. Even if you aren’t the most crafty person I bet you could make this clip. The bonus is it’s very affordable!

What you will need (All can be found at your local crafts store):

  • 2 sheets of felt. I wear a lot of blue so I picked two different shades. The felt is about $.20 each sheet.
  • Beads, sequins, or any type of embellishment that would coordinate with the felt.
  • Glue gun.
  • Matching thread and a needle. If you are too intimidated to stitch the felt you can use hot glue.
  • Lighter or a match.
  • (Not pictured) an alligator clip.

The first step is to cut a few different sized squares of out of the felt. Make sure they are a little bigger than the size you actually want because you will be trimming them down.

Next you will cut the squares into circles. Make sure the circle sizes are all different because you will be stacking them. You want to be able to see each layer as they are stacked. My final flower has 4 layers; 2 turquoise and 2 aqua.

Then you want to take your lighter and lightly singe the edge of the circles. Don’t hold the lighter on one area for too long because they melt very quickly.

Now you want to stack the different sized felt. You can do them off center or perfectly centered. It all depends on your taste.

Next you want to thread your needle and stitch through the center of the stacked felt circles. I did about 5 stitches just to make sure they were secure. If you aren’t using a needle and thread you can glue each piece of felt to the other.

Next you will be adding your embellishments. If you are using beads you want to stitch one at a time to the circles. I brought my needle from the bottom circle to the top and slid my bead down. Then I took my needle back through to the bottom. I continued to do this for the next two beads and then tied the thread off underneath.

If you don’t want to stitch them you can just glue each bead to the felt. It should work fine but they may come off over time.

Next you will put a strip of glue to the top of your alligator clip.

Place the clip on the under side of your felt flower. Then cut out another piece of felt smaller than the bottom circle. Smear hot glue on one side and place it in between the alligator clips mouth. You don’t have to add that extra piece of felt, but I feel like the clip will stay better attached this way. If you want to add more flowers don’t attach the clip just yet.

And there you have it. A very easy tutorial for a felt hair clip. I took it a step further and made 2 more flowers in different sizes and attached them to the main flower. I didn’t stitch them to the main flower because you would see the thread. I hot glued them.

You can wear it as a hair clip or a broach on your shirt or cardigan. I hope you found this tutorial useful! If you have any questions let me know. I hope I was a clear as possible. It’s pretty hard to explain how to make something over the internet. 🙂

 

4 Responses to “DIY: Felt Flower Broach/Hair Clip Tutorial”

  1. Stephanie T. February 18, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    So, so adorable, lady! I wish I was half as creative as you. I’m sure if I attempted this, there would be a trip to the emeergency room somehow.

  2. Kristi {at} Live and Love Out Loud February 19, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    Oh my goodness! These are so cute and even better…they’re easy to make! I’ll have to give these a try one day. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention DIY: Felt Flower Broach/Hair Clip « -- Topsy.com - February 18, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by torie, torie. torie said: DIY: Felt Flower Broach/Hair Clip: http://t.co/OQa5Mcv http://fb.me/vHfmPpZg […]

  2. Party? Say What? « - April 1, 2011

    […] don’t you worry. I love fashion, photography and crafting as well. I’d like to think I am pretty well-rounded. So say hello, pull up a chair and pour a […]

Leave a Reply

