On Trend: Spring Fashion

8 Mar

Here are a few Spring 2011 trends to be on the look out for.

Nude heels make your legs look longer and leaner. I love nude shoes and how they pretty much go with anything. Here are a few examples of the nude shoe done right.

The next must have Spring item is wedges. How can you go wrong with a wedge shoe? You get the lengthening of a heal, but more stability. I prefer wedges when Rylie is with me because I feel like I can chase her around and keep up with her, but still be stylish.

Jeans are always going to be in style–the type of jean is what changes. A classic trouser jean can clean up an outfit and make you look polished. Another trend I have been seeing a lot of is the cuffed jean/cuffed skinny jean. They are super cute and comfy. Just keep in mind that they tend to cut off the length of your leg. Definitely don’t wear any kind of strappy sandal or wedges with these if you have shorter legs.

Sometimes it is intimidating to play with make-up. We get comfortable with the routine and products we use on a regular basis and don’t ever branch out. A fun trend for Spring is purple eye shadow. Don’t think of the 80’s trend, but think more subtle and soft. Use it as an eye liner or an accent to your normal make-up routine. Rachel McAdams is a great example of how to wear this trend.

1. MAC Cosmetics Eye Shadow in Satellite Dreams. 2. MAC Cosmetics Eye Shadow in Vibrant Grape.

Hair trends come and go, but there are always a couple that stay for good. Below are some really pretty Spring hair trends.

1. Curls-Ditch the flat iron (this will be a challenge for me) and get out your curling iron. 2. Low Pony Tails With a Side Part– A middle part is more harsh on your face. Try a side part with bangs for a softer look. 3. Smooth Pony Tails- I personally don’t care for this look on me, but if you can pull it off–go for it. 4. Loose Waves- Once again this will be hard for me, but curls are in. Long gone are the days of sleek, stick straight hair. 5. Messy Beach-Day Hair- I wouldn’t recommend this as an office look, but more of a fun weekend style. Just loose and tousled.

And lastly, don’t forget about the dry shampoo. It has become a mom’s best friend! I have yet to try it, but I’ve heard great things so far. Can’t wait to try it for myself.

Try and find one trend that you like and embrace it. Don’t be scared to step out of your comfort zone. I wore a romper a week ago. I never EVER thought I would, but I tried it anyway–and liked it. You never know what trend you may end up liking too.

One Response to “On Trend: Spring Fashion”

  1. Carol March 10, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    Love this post…makes me wanna run out and pick up a nude heel!

Leave a Reply

