I’m Ready for Another Baby…or Am I?

18 Mar

For the past couple of months my computer screen has been flooded with images of tiny, precious, and oh so sweet little newborn babies. Just looking at those little faces makes me want to stop what I’m doing and have a “date” with the hubby. We’ve been thinking and talking about when we would like to try for another. Our conclusion was sometime this year and for me the sooner the better. But then reality set in.

Yesterday I had an impromptu play date at the park with a brand new mom from MOPS. She brought her little bundle of 4-week-old joy to the park. My heart skipped a beat. It was my chance to love on her brand new baby. As we talked she brought up why she came. She needed to get out of the house. Ah, I remember those days of wanting to get out of the walls that seemed to be closing in on me. She asked me questions of what is normal for a 4 week old, if she should be worried about him crying for no reason and telling me how they both had thrush. Suddenly my baby fever vanished. I started to remember what I went through with Rylie. The crying, the spitting up, the sleepless nights and how I once didn’t take a shower for 4 days. Reality hit me–maybe I’m not ready for another baby, because lets face it even the best babies scream, need constant holding and are up in the middle of the night.

I’m not going to lie. The first couple of months were hard. Recovery was hard. Hearing her constantly cry was hard. The lack of sleep was hard, and dealing with all those crazy hormones and emotions were hard. But just as I started to change my mind about adding to our family I saw my 16 month old little girl running around the play ground, climbing up the stairs and sliding down the slide with out my help. Yes, those first few months were hard, but they only got better and lead up to some of the best moments of my life. These moments are passing so quickly. In the grand scheme of things those difficult first months are only a minuscule amount of time in my life, and not to mention SO worth it.

So as I sympathized with her pain and struggles of being a first time mom I rejoiced in knowing what was yet to come for her. As for me, I am almost ready. In the Lords timing and with His guidance we can become second time parents sometime next year. Until then I will bask in the sweetness of others newborns.

7 Responses to “I’m Ready for Another Baby…or Am I?”

  1. Carol March 18, 2011 at 9:01 am #

    I think spring is giving most of us baby fever! Funny how you kind of forget the rough spots of newborn-ness after a year or so…and truthfully, from my experience, the rough parts are a lot easier to handle the second time around. The second time around you KNOW that the screaming won’t last and that the sleepless nights won’t last either. You kinda treasure it more than tolerate it, well, that was my experience anyway 🙂

  2. Krista C March 18, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    Umm, I think that you need to be ready soon because

    1. you make oh so adorable babes

    2. I’m not ready, so I need to have yours to spoil and love

    3. Your hubs needs a boy to play Star Wars with 🙂

  3. thegnomesmom March 18, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    I can’t decided if or when to add to our little family. One day I want to do it RIGHT NOW and others I think I could wait several years.

  4. 1 Funky Woman March 18, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    Adding to the family is always a hard question. Is there ever a good time? I can say that my son was 4 when we had our daughter and I do wish we had had them closer together. He is now 11 and she is 6 so they sometimes squabble a little. I’m sure it would have been hard at times but then maybe they would have been closer.

    Enjoy your special moments with your daughter. You’ll know when it’s time for another one!

    Megan

  5. Liz March 20, 2011 at 8:52 am #

    Ohhh Torie …. I’ve been asking this same question to myself over … and over… and over again!

    Hubs is definitely ready (and has been)… but it’s me that always second guesses if now is the right time. It’s so funny, I have a post written about just this, I just haven’t published it yet!

  6. D March 21, 2011 at 8:11 am #

    So all of those nice little reminders of that first month had me freaking out and wondering what the heck I was thinking wanting to have another kid (and actually doing it!). But then, like you said, you looked at your daughter and remembered that all that hard stuff doesn’t last forever. New hard stuff happens, but they learn and grow and test your patience, but you fall more in love every single day with them. And that’s worth more than anything in the world 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Party? Say What? « - April 1, 2011

    […] My husband and I will be married 3 years this Wednesday and we have one precious little girl named Rylie. I originally created my blog to document our life pre-children, the journey of baking a baby, and now our lives with an adventurous little girl– and hopefully a few more. […]

Leave a Reply

