To Cut or Not To Cut

29 Mar

Every Spring I am faced with the decision of chopping my hair off. Florida Summers are dreadfully hot and not to mention humid which in turn does nothing for my hair. If I leave it long than it is always in a pony tail.

I do love my long hair. I like to curl it even though it doesn’t hold very long. The curls fall, but the loose ones look best.

There are always pros and cons to having short and long hair. Growing up with a hair dresser as a mom has its benefits too. I had almost every hairstyle you could imagine–including my first perm when I was 3. Yes, 3. But up until 8th grade I had medium length hair. So, I grew it long to donate to Locks of Love. I loved my new look and kept it short. Towards the end of 11th grade I decided to grow it long again. I kept it long all through out college and have since. There have been times where the occasional chop off would take place, but my hair grows like a weed! It would be long again with in a few months.

Now I am at the point where I want to chop it again. I always do the same cut, but now I am wanting something different. My husband loves my long hair and would prefer I didn’t cut it, but he doesn’t care either way. Here is a picture of my hair shorter when I was pregnant with Rylie. It was early to mid 2009. The second picture is a couple of weeks ago.

The 1st picture is the usual cut I do when I decide to have shorter hair. Nothing special, just a basic cut with a few layers and side swept bangs. But here are some options I am considering:

A bob

A little shorter with layers

Long with no bangs

Keep it long but with more layers

What do you think? Should I stick with my same ol’ cut, keep it long, or try something new?

12 Responses to “To Cut or Not To Cut”

  1. Krista C March 29, 2011 at 7:51 am #

    Girl! You are supposed to call me when making decisions like this 🙂 I like the long hair as opposed to your normal short hair cut because I think it makes you look older…but, I love the bob hair cut and I think it would be so cute on you!!

  2. Tara March 29, 2011 at 8:13 am #

    I think you would look adorable with the bob, or I think you would look amazing with the little shorter with layers!!

  3. Carol March 29, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    Ugh, I totally hear you on the toll that the fl heat & humidity takes on long hair. Unfortunately, my hair grows at a snails pace, so I stick with the long. But, if my hair grew as fast as yours does and if I didn’t have so much of it, I would totally rock that Aniston Bob. I love that, but my hair just wouldn’t do it, it’s too thick and curly. You are a doll no matter if it is short or long!

    • Marci Girl March 29, 2011 at 9:18 am #

      All of those pics you picked out would look great! I love the Nicole Richie one, totally “Hot” in the words of Paris Hilton!

  4. Megan @ Beauty&theBanker March 29, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    I took that same exact picture of Hayden Panettiere to my hair dresser a couple years ago and absolutely loved the cut! I just missed my ponytail lol.

    I love your hair long but I am with you on the heat and changing it up a bit is always good. It’s hair, it will grow back. I say go for Miss Haydens look! You could totally rock it!

  5. Shazia March 29, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    I think you are gorgeous and love your hair as it is but I think you would look great with Nicole Richey’s bob or the shorter with layers. Loving both those hair styles. I have long hair and always go for the same cut…layers. I get bored with it and always think I will change it up the next time I go to the salon but chicken out and keep it the same. I will definitely take these 2 pics into the salon next time!

  6. Liz March 29, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    Love your long hair … but I know how it gets in Florida.. and the summertime makes hair CRAZY!!! I think you could totally rock the bob 🙂 Maybe give it a try since your hair grows so fast….

  7. Brittany March 29, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    I love your long hair with the loose curls but I totally think you could pull off the Hayden Panettiere bob! Super cute, wish my hair would cooperate for that cut!

  8. Faith March 29, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    WOW – your hair is SO beautiful!!! My hair is too fine to grow out that long. I think keeping it long and adding the layers and a long bang would look AMAZING.
    I really like having longer hair during the summer because that way I can twist it up when it gets hot – then I chop it all off to a bob for the winter, since I never want to have it up anyway. I know that’s kind of opposite of what a lot of people do, but that’s what works for me 🙂

  9. JoBeth March 30, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    I say 🙂 …. Short bob like Chelsea Kane on Dancing with the stars, or keep it long an add shorter bangs 🙂 Either way you will be gorgeous!

  10. Nicole March 30, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    I like the Hayden cut or the Nicole Richie cut…I am a huge fan of short hair…and I LOVE long bangs…I just can’t have them myself due to an annoying calik. I do like your hair long…it’s so pretty…but it’s nice to change it up a bit…and it’s hair…it always grows back!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Steppin’ Out: Play Date « - April 17, 2011

    […] when I was talking about chopping my hair? Well, last night Rylie and I went to my parents for dinner and I actually did it. But some of you […]

Leave a Reply

