10 Day Cleanse

8 Apr
*This post is mostly for me to write down my thoughts about the day and document my journey, but feel free to read what challenge I have decided to take on.*

I started the Advocare 24 day challenge April 5th. It’s basically a 10 day cleanse and then 14 days to replenish and tone muscle. I decided to take on this challenge because 1) I knew I didn’t go a day with out sugar 2) I want to tone and lose a little weight for our vacation coming up and 3) we are thinking of expanding our family sometime this year. I want to be healthy before hand so I can continue to be through my pregnancy.

The first day was difficult and not because I was hungry, but because I was having sugar withdraws. I never realized how much sugar I consume in just the morning alone. I typically have cereal or some kind of oatmeal for breakfast. Yes, I do eat the “healthy” cereals and oatmeal but they are still loaded with sugar. By 10am I was having the shakes so I grabbed an apple and some peanut butter to help get me through to lunch.

For lunch I had chicken salad with no mayo on a salad topped with balsamic vinegar and extra virgin olive oil. In all honesty I wasn’t starving which is good. I was hungry enough to eat lunch and be satisfied afterwords. I don’t believe in depriving yourself food. We need food to survive, but it’s the type of food we put into our bodies and how much.

After lunch my sugar withdraw shakes went away. I went over to my grandmas with Rylie and was feeling great. No cravings, no shakes, and had energy. Then 3pm came around.

I sat down to watch the Ellen show. I started craving a cookie. I really wasn’t hungry, but I wanted a darn cookie. So I busted out some carrots and hummus to try and distract me. It did the trick at least for a little while.

Once Rylie woke up I was distracted from the cookies. I took her for a walk around the neighborhood and the rest of the evening went well. We had baked chicken, brown rice and steamed veggies for dinner. But once I put Rylie to bed I started to crave cookies again. Luckily I stocked up on fruit earlier in the week, so I ate that, finished my orders and headed up stairs for a work out.

Today is the 4th day of the cleanse and I am really not craving cookies or sweets like I was. I haven’t had any sugar withdraws since the first day and I feel great! I’m excited to challenge myself and complete this thing strong. Tomorrow Seth and I are celebrating our anniversary at PF Chengs. Of course I am going to cheat a bit, but this cleanse calls for you to be 80% on. I think one night out will not mess me up entirely. Plus, I will look at the menu before hand and figure out what my best and healthiest options are.

I also have a really tasty and easy recipe for anyone who is eating healthy and wants to enjoy something sweet. I’ll post that recipe tomorrow for those of you who are interested.

2 Responses to “10 Day Cleanse”

  1. Frances April 8, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    Yep. I’m interested. Best wishes to you, can’t wait to hear how the rest of it goes đŸ™‚

  2. Tara April 8, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    I love this challenge! I just found out that i have PCOS, which is causing infertility right now, and we are trying to have a baby! From what I read, laying off the sugar will help! I am totally addicted sugar! This is inspriring! I like it!

Leave a Reply

