Inspired Fashion Thursday Vol. 5

19 May

If you are new to this series I want to welcome you! Click the Inspired Fashion tab above to see all of the previous outfits.

I have been swooning over this dress ever since I saw it floating around Pinterest. After looking it up and seeing the price–which isn’t bad, but not in our budget–I decided it wasn’t meant to be. But as I was cleaning out my closet I came across a skirt that would help me put this look together.

This weeks inspiration from Spool No.72:

photo credit

Here is what I came up with using a few pieces from my closet:

Notice that the shirt I am wearing is actually a dress. It is a little short and I have been wanting make it a longer by adding a ruffle to the bottom, but this is even better. I used a cut of fabric for the “bow” but as you can see it was a little short so I just made a knot. If you want to try this look make sure you cut the fabric long enough to wrap around yourself and make a bow.

My Outfit:

  • Striped Dress: Forever 21
  • Skirt: Old Navy (circa 2008)
  • Belt: A cut of fabric
  • Shoes: Payless
  • Necklace: Charlotte Russe (a few years old)
Here are the dresses next to my version.

One Response to “Inspired Fashion Thursday Vol. 5”

  1. 1 Funky Woman May 20, 2011 at 7:57 am #

    I love the skirt with the bow, darling! What a great comfy, hip summer outfit! Loving the shoes too!

    Megan

Leave a Reply

