When Commercials Make You Cry

20 May

As I turned my TV to American Idol last night, a commercial came on that caught my eye. Here it is.

After only catching the last few seconds of it I decided to look it up on YouTube. I cried. Tears streamed down my face. I couldn’t get over the fact that I was crying over someone who I didn’t even know. And then it hit me. I shed those tears because I am going through the same journey with my daughter as that man did with his daughter.

When I got pregnant I decided I was going to write a letter to our unborn child at least once every week of my pregnancy–and most times I wrote more. Before I knew that she would be a girl I wrote a letter to her and wrote down the prayers I prayed for her. Once we found out we were having a girl I was overcome with emotion. One day she would be able to read the words I wrote to her. Don’t get me wrong, I would’ve continued writing it if she happened to be a boy, but there is a special bond between a mother and a daughter once she has children of her own. I wrote in it all the way up to the day I delivered her. As I ran out of room to write down my thoughts I turned to blogging  to help me remember those important milestones and that is why the commercial really got to me.

As most of you know I have documented every month of Rylies first year. I’ve posted videos, many many pictures and a few letters written directly to her. My blogging began as a way to keep our family and friends up to date on our everyday adventures, but it has turned into so much more. It has become my gift to Rylie, my creative outlet, and my chance to connect with others who are in the same season of life. I hope that one day I can share this blog with her as well as other children we hope to one day have. My hopes are that they read it and are thankful. I hope that they laugh, sigh and cry tears of joy. I hope that are proud of the words I chose and the things I shared.

My husband didn’t understand why I was crying, but I knew and that’s all that really matters.

3 Responses to “When Commercials Make You Cry”

  1. Emma Danforth May 20, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    Tori:
    This is so beautiful. I cried at my desk this morning at work. You are truly inspirational and an example of the kind of mother I want to be for my children. I wish that there were more parents like this out there who are truly devoted to their children and realize what an impact that they can have on there lives. You are so blessed to have the talent and gift to write in ways that touch individuals in so many ways! Never stop writing! You are an awesome mom!!

  2. Liz May 20, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    Torie, I saw this commerical just the other night for the first time. I have to admit, I cried too.. I’m such a sap anyways, but this commercial just hits home, especially when you are a parent!

    BTW, Abby would love to be Rylie’s friend!!! I’d love to meet up someday! 🙂

  3. Joyce May 20, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    I got emotional too. It made me think about you growing up and if the technology would have been the same as now, you know that this is something your Dad would have done. He did do alot of videos though, but are now kinda impossible to watch…. who has a vhs player anymore? Anyway, you are soooo much like him in that way…never stop!!!!! Rylie will appreciate it someday!!

Leave a Reply

