The Peaceful Moments

14 Jun

Tightly closed eyes. Body limp. Lips squished together. Arms stretched out. Chest rising and falling. Peace fills the room. These are the moments I truly treasure.

They say there is nothing better than a sleeping baby, but I’d say there is nothing better than a sleeping toddler. Their days are filled with adventure, excitement, and many temper tantrums and at the end of the day I am exhausted.

I love exploring with her and teaching her new things, but there is discipline involved that I would prefer not to do. At the end of the day, as I tell her “night-night” and tuck her in bed, she repeats “love you.” I plop down in my chair and start my 2nd job and that is when I cherish the silence that the night brings.

Before I crash in a bed of my own, I venture over to her room to check on and lay the covers back over her. I occasionally climb into her bed and stare at her as she sleeps. I listen to her breath and watch her chest rise and fall. I softly says prayers that the Lord will watch over her and keep her close to Him as she gets older. It is in those moments that I realize how blessed I am. Blessed with a toddler that some may never get to have. Blessed with a roof over our heads. Blessed with a loving and helpful husband. Blessed with a family who will always be there. Blessed by a God who hears my every word. Blessed with family, faith and love.

I wouldn’t trade anything for the days of craziness with my toddler, but the silence is what restores my soul.

3 Responses to “The Peaceful Moments”

  1. Shazia June 14, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    Perfectly said…

  2. Katie June 14, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    oh Torie…this is a beautiful post. and so true. sigh…they are so much work, but oh the peaceful sleeping toddler is as close to the peace of God as I seem to get lately. Love it.

  3. Liz June 15, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    What a great post Torie 🙂 I’m sure sweet Rylie will know God, as you do. What a beautiful prayer for her. 🙂

Leave a Reply

