She’s a Big Kid Now

8 Jul

Rylie has been sleeping in her big girl bed for a little over 2 weeks. I was so nervous letting her have free reign in her room, but it had to be done. She was climbing out every day and I’d rather have her roam her room a little bit than fall and get hurt. My baby is growing up too fast!

But to say she has adjusted well is an understatement. She is doing so well in her big girl bed and I am so proud of her. The first few mornings she would come over to the gate at her door and yell “Mama, Dada!” but now she just plays quietly in her bed with her Pooh and “Nickey” (Mickey Mouse) until we come and get her.

Naps were a little harder. As soon as I would lay her down she would come to the door and cry. It only lated a few minutes until she climbed into bed and went to sleep. I’m not trying to brag, but I am really proud of the big girl she is becoming. I really thought we would have to fight our strong-willed-stubborn-child, but she has surprised us. I’m sure as she gets older she will protest a bit more, but at least we have gotten off to a good start.

A couple of nights ago I had a good chuckle. See, every night I go into her room to say my final good nights, cover her up and simply watch her sleep, but that night I walked in and found her in a very different place. I grabbed my phone, turned on the light and got a quick picture to show Seth.

I don’t know why she decided to sleep on the itchy floor, but it was the funniest thing I’ve walked into. And not only is she on the floor, she is laying next to the biggest monkey known to man. Just cracks me up. Notice where her hands are–she loves sleeping with her hands underneath her body. Silly little girl.

5 Responses to “She’s a Big Kid Now”

  1. Emma Danforth July 8, 2011 at 8:06 am #

    OMG what a cutie patootie!!! She really is a big girl now!! ❤

  2. justine July 8, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    we just recently (2 nights ago) converted b’s crib to a big girl bed. it’s been pretty good so far too. she likes to sleep like rylie too! it’s hilarious. that first picture of her is just adorable, she looks like she really loves her big girl bed!!

    did you make that back bumper??

    • toriebartee July 8, 2011 at 10:41 am #

      🙂
      My mom made her bumper and pillows that matched. We are actually in the middle changing her room too.

  3. LeeAnn July 8, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    That’s awesome that she is doing so well in her big girl bed! I think I must have the only child who will NOT get out of her bed still unless I come get her. We put Rylie in her big girl bed shortly after she turned 2 because she was fully potty trained and I thought she might need to get up and go during the night. But she won’t get out of her bed unless someone comes and gets her. Even in the morning. It’s a little strange, but kind of nice. LOL

  4. Liz July 8, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    So glad it’s going well! What a big girl 🙂 The last pic cracked me up … so cute!

Leave a Reply

