A Little Bit More About My BlogHer Experience

11 Aug

*Sidenote: I was supposed to post this yesterday, but well, life happened.*

Two days ago I overloaded your brains with pictures of my experience at BlogHer. Today I want to share, in words, my feelings on the conference.

I went into the conference totally comfortable and carefree–which is really unusual for me. I was a little nervous/anxious the morning I left, but after I got on the plane all I could worry about was not throwing up during take-off. I didn’t feel any more nerves or anxiety once I arrived in San Diego. I don’t know if it was the people I was surrounded by, or the fact that I had no responsibilities, but I was unexpectedly comfortable. The only fear I had going into it was being alone most of the time, but these two chicks made all those fears disappear.

The Paper Mama

Jenni From The Blog

They were my roommates the first night and we got along like peas and carrots. Seriously, there wasn’t a moment we weren’t laughing/joking/being sarcastic/and just being ourselves. I feel like I have been friends with them for a very long time.

And then there were these chicks.

Girls whose blogs I’ve been reading for a long time–and let me tell you they are just like what you read. No five minutes after I walked into their room they were trying to open a bottle of wine, which took about 6 people or more to open. Priceless.

I learned that no matter how much you prepare, stress over and plan for BlogHer, it will be what you make of it. If you sit in the corner waiting for someone to approach you, than you will probably not enjoy yourself. Make an effort to talk to others, find out what events are going on and see where people are going to be. Find people who you connect with and stick with them. But on that note, branch out and meet others as well.

Somethings I will do differently next year will be 1) not over packing. Outfit wise I did great, but being the shoe connoisseur that I am, I over packed a bit. I had planned to wear heals to all the parties and possibly some during the day. That did not happen. I wore heels to the first party. All other nights I was in flats–and even those killed my feet. I ended up flying home in my Dr. Scholls Fast Flats because all other shoes murdered my feet. Next year I will bring more flats and leave the heels at home.

Secondly, I wish I would’ve hung out more with other bloggers. Naturally you find a couple of girls you click with and stick with them the whole time, but I feel like I missed out on some friendships that could’ve blossomed. Take Katie and Miranda for example. I feel like I have connected with them through twitter/the blogging world, but we barely had any conversations, which I now regret. Others in this category are Alena, Krystal, Suzanne, and Jill. I even roomed with two of these ladies and yet the activities of the day (and nights) took up most of our time. By the time we got back into our rooms–going on 1am–we wanted to pass out. Next year I will make an effort to get to know these ladies and others better.

And lastly I will research and sign up for more parties/events. I had no clue that I had to get on a list to attend and by the time I found that out, it was too late. It was probably better that I wasn’t running around like a chicken with my head cut-off for my first conference, but it would have been nice to have more options.

Some other highlights include:

  • This video
  • Winning $11 in the Retail Me Not booth. Yeah, other people won a lot more than that, but it was better than the $2 I won the day before.
  • The first session I went to.
  • Arriving 2 days early was the best decision I made. It gave me a chance to hang out with friends before the craziness started.
  • Praying with someone in the hall at 1am.
  • Sparklecorn and the non-stop dancing for 5 hours. Yes, non-stop.
  • Connecting with others who understand the blogging world–and discussing our husbands who don’t.
  • The GORGEOUS weather!
  • Hand dipped Dove bars. Yum.
  • Having awesome roommates–all of them.
  • Watching Chelsey and Jenni drink wine from a water cantine/bottle. Classic.
  • And this.
Needless to say I had a blast. I really hope and plan to go next year, although I will be leaving hubby with a 2 1/2 year old and a 6 month old (we are still discussing this). I learned a lot, met some wonderful people and made the connections I had hoped to. It was hard saying goodbye to those who I bonded with which keeps me thinking BlogHer 12 can’t come soon enough! 🙂
4 Responses to “A Little Bit More About My BlogHer Experience”

  1. Katie August 11, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    Torie! I so wish we would have had more time! You are right…we have a great friendship here in our computers and I bet we would have had awesome conversations. Next time for SURE!

    And I will be wearing my pumas during the day next time and leaving ALL heels at home. OUCH!!!

  2. thepapermama August 11, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    I miss your face. And, everything else. I never had wine in a canteen… I don’t know what you’re talking about. 😉

  3. molly August 12, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    Awww, you totally made me cry. You are such a sweet and good person. I am so glad I got to meet you 🙂

  4. jenni from the blog August 12, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    Ahhhhhhhhhh! This post just made me miss you EVEN more! I was so lucky to have met you. Seriously. And I can’t wait to see your pretty little face {sans PG belly} next year. I have a feeling you will be drinking out of the wine bottle with us. 😉

Leave a Reply

