Mom Needing Other Mom’s Suggestions

25 Aug

Being that I am already 16 weeks and this pregnancy seems to be going by super fast, I realized that I may need to start thinking about baby things before the little one gets here. We really won’t need many things seeing how we kept all of Rylie’s baby stuff, but we will need a few essentials–like a double stroller.

Here’s where I am leaving some of you out (I promise I won’t do it again 🙂 ) and asking the seasoned moms to give me some suggestions. Here is where I am at. We are wanting a double jogging stroller because that really came in handy with Rylie, but I also need a double full-sized stroller. Should I use the jogging stroller as my everyday stroller for trips to Target, the store, etc? Or should I get (register for) both? I am wondering if the jogging stroller would serve all purposes? And if having two double strollers is just a waste of space/money?

My next question is what strollers (either jogging or regular) would you recommend? I have a pretty basic Graco stroller that has done Rylie and I well. On the other hand, my jogging stroller was a Craigslist find. It works great, but the shade is loose and constantly folds back. It was a problem when Rylie was younger and the bright Florida sun practically blinded her on our runs. So with that being said, I want to make sure my next jogging stroller is in a little bit better shape. We can’t spend a whole lot of money, so keep that in mind. What strollers have made your life easier or can’t you live without?

So I there are my questions about strollers. I may have other questions along the way, but my mind has been in a fog lately. All this house buying business is clouding my brain (more to come on that as well). Thanks in advance for the suggestions. This mother of one, Rylie and my future child all thank you.

7 Responses to “Mom Needing Other Mom’s Suggestions”

  1. Carol August 25, 2011 at 8:26 am #

    One of my girlfriends had her boys super close together. She bought one high end jogger and used it for everything. I pushed her BOB stroller a few times and I have to say, it was worth the cost. The thing turns on a dime, is well made, and you can use it everywhere. I think if you end up buying 2 strollers you will spend ALMOST as much money as buying one really nice, all purpose stroller. Even when I only had one child, I preferred my jogger at the mall, anyway. My girls were far enough apart that I went with a Sit N Stand stroller. I still use it at Disney 🙂

  2. Life With Ladies August 25, 2011 at 8:31 am #

    I don’t have much experience with jogging strollers, only to say that to have two double strollers around my house would take up so much space I’d want to cringe. But, if you have the storage- go for it!
    With 3 kids, we’ve been through a lot of versions of the double stroller & I have to say that the Baby Trend Sit n Stand has been awesome! It folds super flat & easy and it’s been perfect transitioning from infant carseat (snaps on the front) to busy toddler (5 point harness in the front seat). I lurve it.

  3. Mama Fisch August 25, 2011 at 8:35 am #

    This was probably my biggest research point when we had Brady in October 2009. Our daughter will be born next week and I still think we made the right decision. We HAVE a single BOB Revolution Stroller. We will be buying a Double Bob Revolution. I cannot tell you how awesome the stroller is. We have a McClaren in our car for simple stuff but 9 times out of 10 we defer to the “the Bob”. It is amazing…running, hiking, navigating Target etc..Spend the bucks! You won’t be disappointed!

  4. angela August 25, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    If you’re really going to jog with it, I would buy a BOB Revolution. I didn’t do that, and I regret it at least once a week (honestly).

    However, I would still want something else for things like shopping trips, but that “other” stroller depends on your needs. I would say either a sit & stand or a smaller double, like the Combi side by side.

    Mine are 23 months apart, and I have a Baby Jogger City Classic (big, like a BOB but not a real jogger) that I use for big trips to places like the zoo or for neighborhood walks. Otherwise, now, I mostly use my umbrella stroller and let Abbey walk for shorter trips. I also have a sit & stand that I used when A was too young to just walk on her own.

  5. Krista August 25, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    I’ve heard the BOB is awesome just like everyone says…but also keep in mind that some aisles are pretty narrow and the front and back stroller might come in handy for those situations. I had the Gracco Double Stroller and it worked out great for us.

  6. Heather Lutz August 26, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    Hi! I’m a mom to three kiddos less than three years apart! (They are 3, 2 and 4 months!) and my first two are 15 months apart. When we starting looking for a double stroller we were on a pretty tight budget and worked with some coupons and store credit and bought a Schwinn double jogging stroller from Babies R Us. I also bought a Jeep tandem stroller at a yard sale. All in all, we ended up reselling the tandem and using the jogger all the time. It’s been great and fits through most doors and narrow places and now is serving us well again with my two youngest who are 19 months apart! The biggest selling point for us was the price. Things have been kind of tight for us lately (paying/saving for med school for my husband!) and this stroller is a great buy! It may not be as fancy or as smooth as a BOB but it’s smooth enough and fancy enough for a stroller and isn’t $500! Other things we like are: it’s very easy to push and handle – much easier than a tandem stroller, it wasn’t as heavy to pick up and put into the back of my van, it folds up pretty compactly and the seats can recline all the way down – good for newborns, the only downside is that it’s not car seat compatible. It won’t just have a place to hook in an infant car seat. Here is the link to the closest thing I could find to mine. It’s not exactly the same (mine’s a couple year older model) but the basics look the same. http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3472427&searchURL=false

    hope this helps!

    Just found this one that looks newer! I’m sure you could fit the infant car seat in this one! And a great price! Good luck! http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=11051736&prodFindSrc=prodCrossSell

  7. Emily August 28, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    I know tons of people love their BOBs but I have to tell you Bumbleride makes a super awesome jogger. It is great, is not as large as the bob, and has more everyday features as well…
    Not to mention they are much cuter then BOBs!!

Leave a Reply

